IIS WAMREG admin Service – Windows Event 10016 – Wictor Wilén Addendum

The reason for sharing this post today is that I had the issue described in Wictor Wilen’s Post and the solution posted there did not work for me at first. So I wanted to elaborate a little bit. 

I was pretty sure that Wictor knows his stuff, because he is an MVP and a notorious one at that, so I thought I was doing something wrong. So true.

The first wrong turn I took when I tried fixing this the first time I didn’t understand the take ownership solution he proposed. Once I figured that out and it still didn’t work I tried finding other sources, but didn’t. Enter “The benefits of Social/ Web 2.0”.

When checking the comments on Wictor’s blog I saw that a lot of others faced the same issue I did and then I saw Blair’s post with the solution… I should have known this. x86/ x64 issue yet again.

Find the full description of how I solved this below and again a special shout-out to Wictor for the solution:

This is the error you will see in Windows Event Log:


Windows Event Log

You can find the details of this error here:

To resolve this issue, you need to give permissions to the executing accounts for SharePoint, so you can either get them from the services snapin or you add the permissions via the local SharePoint/ IIS Groups.

As the security tab of the IIS WAMREG admin service is greyed out you need to give full permissions to the local administration group. To do this you need to take ownership of the following two keys:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AppID\{61738644-F196-11D0-9953-00C04FD919C1}


Registry Entry 1

and

HKCR\Wow6432Node\AppID\{61738644-F196-11D0-9953-00C04FD919C1}


Registry Entry 2

after that you will be able to edit the permissions in the permissions tab of the component services


Component Services

Leave a Reply

