Static IP? No thanks, i’ve got ftp!

So yes, there is a bit of a logical issue in the title. If I have ftp, I already have a static ip of course, which is connected to the servername, but maybe I don’t want that static ip, I want it for a different purpose and it costs me 15 EUR/ month to get it via my Internet Provider. I could start with using a service that can tunnel my requests via a static IP to my dynamic one, but I will have to register with somebody.

I thought, why can I not do the following? Trigger a timer job on my home machine, get the IP Address and store it in a file. This file I could either push via a service like dropbox (but I don’t want dropbox on my server) or I can use ftp.

I took the code from this site.

Here it is:


function UploadFTP {
param(
[string] $user,
[string] $url,
[string] $port,
[string] $pass,
[string] $localPath,
[string] $remotePath
)

# create the FtpWebRequest and configure it
$ftp = [System.Net.FtpWebRequest]::Create("ftp://" + $url + ":" + $port + "/" + $remotePath);
$ftp = [System.Net.FtpWebRequest]$ftp
$ftp.Method = [System.Net.WebRequestMethods+Ftp]::UploadFile
$ftp.Credentials = new-object System.Net.NetworkCredential($user,$pass);
$ftp.UseBinary = $true
$ftp.UsePassive = $true
# read in the file to upload as a byte array
$content = [System.IO.File]::ReadAllBytes($localPath);
$ftp.ContentLength = $content.Length
# get the request stream, and write the bytes into it
$rs = $ftp.GetRequestStream()
$rs.Write($content, 0, $content.Length)
# be sure to clean up after ourselves
$rs.Close()
$rs.Dispose()
}

function DownloadFTP {
param(
[string] $user,
[string] $url,
[string] $port,
[string] $pass,
[string] $downloadPath,
[string] $remotePath
)
# Create a FTPWebRequest
$FTPRequest = [System.Net.FtpWebRequest]::Create("ftp://" + $url + ":" + $port + "/" + $remotePath);
$FTPRequest.Credentials = New-Object System.Net.NetworkCredential($user,$pass)
$FTPRequest.Method = [System.Net.WebRequestMethods+Ftp]::DownloadFile
$FTPRequest.UseBinary = $true
$FTPRequest.KeepAlive = $false

# Send the ftp request
$FTPResponse = $FTPRequest.GetResponse()
# Get a download stream from the server response
$ResponseStream = $FTPResponse.GetResponseStream()
# Create the target file on the local system and the download buffer
$LocalFile = New-Object IO.FileStream ($downloadPath,[IO.FileMode]::Create)
[byte[]]$ReadBuffer = New-Object byte[] 1024
# Loop through the download
do {
$ReadLength = $ResponseStream.Read($ReadBuffer,0,1024)
$LocalFile.Write($ReadBuffer,0,$ReadLength)
}
while ($ReadLength -ne 0)

$LocalFile.Close();
$LocalFile.Dispose();
}

$user = "someusername"
$url = "some.ftp.server"
$port = "21";
$pass = "somepassword";
$localPath = "C:\tmp\myfile.txt";
$downloadPath = "C:\tmp\myfiledown.txt";
$remotePath = "myuploadedfile.txt";

$ip = Get-NetIPAddress | ? { $_.AddressFamily -eq "IPv4" -and $_.InterfaceAlias -eq "Ethernet"}
$ip.IPv4Address > $localPath;

UploadFTP $user $url $port $pass $localPath $remotePath
DownloadFTP $user $url $port $pass $downloadPath $remotePath

So what I am doing is defining my variables, writing my IP to my localpath and uploading that file as well as downloading it. So my PoC was with one machine. The expectation is that the downloaded file and the original file are the same. Which is true.

The eventual setup will look a bit different because I will have to get at the public ip as well as setup the job which will then upload the file. On the other side I will need the part of the script, that downloads the file.

So my use case is I want to connect to a server connected to the internet, but I don’t know the IP, because it is dynamic/ DHCP.

Leave a Reply

